Peace Be With You!


John 14:27  Peace I leave with you.  My peace I give to you, not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.  (NKJV)

The loss of a loved one is always traumatic; whether it was after a prolonged illness and (kind of) expected or from an accident that claimed your loved one without any warning.  

It can evoke anger, and often fear of death  (because it is throws you into an unknown reality), and shrouds you with shock and numbness that is not easily explained or understood, by anyone who has not experienced it in their lives. 

We can try to re-gather our thoughts by ‘isolating’ ourselves from everything and everyone around us, but it is a short-lived peace; there comes a time when we have to re-enter the world and deal with its’ expectations of us.  There’s always ‘stuff’ to be done and so, despite our inner pain, we have to ‘just get on with it’!

Consider the inner peace that you can experience if you trust in God and Jesus!  Inviting Jesus into our lives, we can sense achieve a sense of calm and strength;  we will know without any shadow of doubt, it is not of our doing because it can effectively cast out our feelings of despair and desolation. 

If you are hurting from loss or rejection, give this a try:  quietly ask Jesus to come into your life and ask for help to deal with the emotional pain and grief – I cannot guarantee it will vanish completely, but you will feel a calm that you haven’t felt before, if you trust there will be a response then you will certainly feel less afraid of the unknown, that death and change brings. 

Psalm 23 reminds us of God’s grace and ever present help, if we will just ask for it and then trust Him to ‘deliver‘ –

1You, LORD, are my shepherd.

   I will never be in need.

    2You let me rest in fields

   of green grass.

   You lead me to streams

   of peaceful water,

    3and you refresh my life.

   You are true to your name,

   and you lead me

   along the right paths.

    4I may walk through valleys

   as dark as death,

   but I won’t be afraid.

   You are with me,

   and your shepherd’s rod [a]makes me feel safe.

    5You treat me to a feast,

   while my enemies watch.

   You honor me as your guest,

   and you fill my cup

   until it overflows.

    6Your kindness and love

   will always be with me

   each day of my life,

   and I will live forever

   in your house, LORD.   (CEV)

Blessings to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

