To Tithe or Not To Tithe!


Malachi 3:10 – “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house.  ‘Test me in this’, says the Lord Almighty, ‘and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room for it”’

When you have very little income at your disposal tithing is often considered an unwanted strain on resources.   It has amazed me over the years, the number of (professing) Christians I have met that refuse to tithe because they say they can’t afford to.   I, on the other hand, have learned over the years that I can’t afford to not tithe, no matter how small my income has been.

The New Testament teaches generous, sacrificial giving, from the heart, according to our means. For some, $1 might be a sacrifice, while for others, even giving 50% of their income might not induce a sacrifice. In the Old Testament, ONLY the farmers tithed, and it was equal percentage (a tenth). The New Testament teaches the principle of equal sacrifice instead of equal percentage. Equal sacrifice is much harder to achieve, if not impossible, than giving ten percent.  1 Timothy 5:8 (KJV) “But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.”  (last paragraph by kind permission of Gary J. Arnold – for more indepth teaching on Biblical tithing see his website –  http://www.tithing101.com/).

My husband and I have (in the distant past) ‘skipped’ tithing because at the time, we felt we could not afford to give any away,  our income was often was not even enough to meet our own commitments – so how could we possibly give a percentage away!  However, each time we chose to not tithe, we invariably suffered consequences of far greater cost than the small amount we should have (cheerfully) given; by way of unexpected repairs or demands on our financial resources!   

I would like to urge you to think again if you are considering keeping all that you earn for yourself, and dare to not give a portion to God – He is the giver of all that we possess – and He can take it all away in ‘the blink of an eye’ (been there – experienced that).  I believe He does this, not out of malice – but to draw our attention to His ways, to grow in our faith and to trust in His provision. (This is just my viewpoint of what has worked for my family –  decide for yourselves what is right for you and yours).

SoTo Tithe or not to Tithe?  Let me put it this way – God loves a cheerful giver and I want to be obedient and please Him, and so I happily give my portion –  right away, then it’s done – and ‘No’ I do not sit back and wait to be blessed, I just rest in the knowledge that I have given what I can and then get on with my day!

Patricia Day

also check

 http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com

https://pepeprays.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

