Time Out!


‘I AM your Creator and I take joy in all you do’.

I can often be found, seated by a picture window in our sunroom, ‘taking in’ the beauty of the trees and flower gardens outside – OK, to the onlooker I’m merely staring into space, or taking ‘time-out’, however, I am not being idle – I am ‘listening’ for that gentle voice within me that will help me start my day in the right way.  I’m listening for the ‘voice’ that says ‘I AM always with you’; ‘I AM your Lord and Saviour’; ‘I AM so pleased to have your attention, because I have much to tell you’: He sometimes must also think, ‘Well Patricia, just in the nick of time, I AM glad that, at last, you are listening’,  (in fact, a journal entry some time ago, expressed that sentiment – and yes, it got my attention). 

Oh, these are not the specific words I ‘hear’ every day – these are a sampling of quiet murmurs that have attracted my attention in the past, (I know because I have records of whenever I have been ‘spoken’ to.  I love it when it happens because His thoughts and words, are certainly not my thoughts and words.  I choose the quiet of the early morning, because  I cannot concentrate or focus on God’s (inner) promptings, if there is noise and chatter around me, and so I ‘plant’ myself in my comfortable chair each morning, hoping He has something to say or show to me. 

Matthew 6:6 – But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

I wonder if God ever longs for quiet?  I wonder if, with all the prayers and supplications that are sent to Him every second of every single day, He ever murmurs, ‘Oh, please, I need quiet, how can I concentrate with all this noise going on around Me!’  I somehow, think not; after all He is the omniscient, omnipotent, omnipresent One, (the all-seeing, all-knowing, all-powerful and universal) God.  The Great I AM: therefore, I do not envisage Him whining for solitude so that He can think (to focus).  He is our Creator, Teacher, Father; He longs for us to be in relationship with Him, He yearns for us to accept Him through Jesus; He hears our every prayer and desire. 

Matthew 28:20b – I am with you always, even to the end of the age.

His gentle promptings and ideas, and often a solution to a challenge I have been unable to solve, are always uplifting and so awesome.  Why would I not seek to hear Him, when I experience such joy each time I hear His ‘voice’.  I am so glad He doesn’t need to take time out!

Prayer: Abba, let us never take for granted, the quiet times of our lives – so many people around the world have no opportunity for this privilege, due to oppression.  Let us always be willing to listen for Your words and be ready to share them with others.  Amen

I can also be found at:

http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com

https://pepeprays.wordpress.com

God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

