The Spider and the Web


One summer morning, I was enjoying the warmth and sunshine of a new day; and being intent on all the insect activity around me I was suddenly aware of a spider coming close.  I noticed it traveling through the air on the breeze and it was heading into the gazebo where I was sitting!!  I hate spiders.  Anyway, I watched in fascination as it (thankfully) landed on a wall of the gazebo, and it was only  then that I saw the mass of web ‘threads’ on which it had been traveling – I was amazed because I thought spiders traveled on a single web, but this appeared to be about four inches wide. As I watched it suddenly released itself from the web to which it had been attached and the latter floated away on the breeze.

On watching this, it suddenly occurred to me that as believers we come to a point in our lives where we need to let go of our stuff, and like that spider with its web(s),release the burdens and let God take over…….in my thinking the spider was (me) us – the web(s) all the garbage (I)we haul around day after day – but it can be so easily released if we EARNESTLY give it to God (let it float away on the breeze, in His care).

Today, I have been given the thought that my mission in life, is merely to seek God and His Way; to let Him have control of my thoughts, words and actions.  Release my attachment to worldly values and the approval of people, and place everything in His care. 

It can be so easy to do, but I often feel it can be much harder to accomplish; but I know from experience that God readily relieves me of my burdens when I truly ask from my heart. Once given to Him, it is off my shoulders and is no longer my burden.

 Pretty neat huh? 

 Psalms 55:22 NIV  – Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.

1 Peter 5:7 NIV  – Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Prayer: Father, how often we can lose sight of You and all that you promise.  We continually, try to ‘soldier on’ all by ourselves, while it would be far less tiring to let You take control.  Let us grow in trust and be led to come to You first, in all things every day.

 

check out more at: 

http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com

https://pepeprays.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

