Death or Life!


New Life

Photograph by Kind Permission of Alana Daly of Innisfil, Ontario

The death of a loved one, whether expected or not,  leaves a ‘hole’ in our lives that cannot be filled by anyone or anything on this earth.

 Onlookers can support and grieve with the families who mourn such losses, but they can only ‘do so much’.  A strong belief and faith in God – really does work miracles:  I witnessed two such miracles over the past weekend, when I attended funeral services for two Godly gentlemen who were ‘taken home’ – one unexpectedly and the other after a long, long illness; I watched each family coping with their grief and was humbled by their strength and their trust in God and all the promises of comfort found in the bible.  The depth of their loss was palpable, their love for the departed family member visible to one and all:  it had me questioning my own values – did I even have what each one of these families had lost?  If I felt that I did not, what could I do about it – and what was missing? 

I don’t know if others were prompted by such questions – perhaps that is what death does to us – it makes us look at our lives and re-adjust where we’re at before it is too late to make changes!  Perhaps one family’s loss can be another person’s gain – and I don’t mean that selfishly – my point is that we can all make changes in our lives – sometimes we don’t know that anything is missing until something, or someone, is taken away from us!

God provides us with the strength to overcome and the comfort to endure – so my prayer is that we will each seek His wisdom, in the Bible and be reassured by its promises.  I witnessed many folk these past two days, literally inspiring others in how they behaved – how they were able to speak of their departed ones, while maintaining poise, grace and encouragement to others, that God, and faith and trust in the guidance found in the Bible,  really is worth our while. 

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you; Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand”.

Isaiah 40:31 “But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint”.

Prayer:  In all things, in all ways – we trust in You, Lord God, for all our needs, because we know that even in our times of loss, through death, You want us to choose life!   Amen!

The photograph is by kind permission of Alana Daly, a friend and neighbour to the family who suffered the loss of a beloved husband and father – it brought great joy to him as he ‘battled’ the cancer that took his life – but these precious little hummingbird babes (to me) signify that life (of course) goes on and even tiny birds can lift us above the (emotional) pain of our loss, as we choose to slowly begin our new pathway in life.  This nest, by the way measures approximately an inch and a half!

https://pepeprays.wordpress.com

http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com

http://devotionalchristian.com

Leave a Reply

