Psalm 23


At a particularly crucial time, in my life, I was drawn to this Psalm in a bible!  I was in England and had travelled out of the city to attend a job interview – for an exciting and challenging position working with seniors.  I had time to spare and wanted to calm my nerves and so walked into a church close to where my appointment was to be.  I walked to the front of a small chapel and knelt; picked up a bible and asked God to guide and reassure me – to show me what to read – the bible ‘fell’ open at Psalm 23 and I have loved that particular psalm ever since.

Here is another version that I came across recently – I do hope you like it and are comforted by the words contained therein!

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd (that’s relationship)

I shall not want (that’s supply or provision)

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures (rest)

He leadeth me beside the still waters (refreshment)

He restoreth my soul (healing)

He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness (guidance)

For His names’ sake (purpose)

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death (testing & trials)

I will fear no evil (protection)

For Thou art with me (faithfulness)

Thy rod and Thy staff comfort me (discipline)

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies (hope)

Thou anointeth my head with oil (consecration)

My cup runneth over (abundance)

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life (blessings)

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever  (security).

May God guide our decisions and our words today and hold us close to His heart!

more at:  http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com   &  https://pepeprays.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

