I’m Here – Where are You?


John 14:1-3 “Don’t be troubled.  You trust God, now trust in me.  There are many rooms in my Father’s home, and I am going to prepare a place for you.  If this were not so, I would tell you plainly.  When everything is ready, I will come and get you.  And you know where I am going and how to get there”. (NLT)

We are a one car family and so when I need the use of our car, I have to get my body out of bed early enough to travel with my husband, into town and deposit him at his workplace.  At the end of the day, I reverse that order and journey to bring him back home again so he can relax and enjoy the comforts of home.  Hopefully, it welcomes him with a modicum of order after I have done necessary housekeeping through the day, thus making it a place for each of us to enjoy come evening.

I tend to be very punctual and so, when my husband is not at the appointed place at the agreed time, I begin to display my ‘antsey’ disposition.  “Ok, I’m here, where are you?” or “Come on, Mister, I’ve worked hard at home cleaning and preparing supper and I’m tired too, I need to get home” or “I’m here, come and find me then I can take you home”.   I agree – it is sadly not the best attitude and certainly not a Godly one.

Thankfully, God is infinitely gracious and patient and will wait for us to meet Him, anytime and in any place.  He wants to be welcomed into our day and into our lives.  He waits for us to meet and greet Him and allow Him to take us along the path that leads to His heavenly abode – our eternal home, where, He has promised He has already prepared a place for each one of us: all we have to do is welcome Him and agree to take that journey with Him, trusting that there we really will find promised rest and comfort.

Isaiah 55:6 Seek the Lord while you can find Him.  Call on Him now while He is near.  (NLT)

Prayer:  Father God, Help us to look for You and wait for You and follow You on the journey of life that is Your choice for each one of us.  Help us with our attitudes and grant us grace.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

