Facing our Pain


Yesterday, I addressed the fathers in our earthly lives. Today, I make mention of our own possible shortcomings.

We all face difficult situations that involve the people we love. In some of these situations the wise course of action may not be clear. We may feel a heavy burden to act but have no idea what to do.

Sometimes, we are powerless, because of our stations in life. We may be in a situation where other people have power over us. We may feel that we are trapped by the demands of others and that there is no way to please them all. It’s a double bind; to please one is to disappoint another. Sometimes when we feel stuck and frustrated with our relations, we look for a measure of control by escaping through our addictive behaviors.

Genesis 16:9-11 Hagar is a picture of powerlessness. She had no rights. As a girl, she was a slave to Sarai and Abram. When Sarai proved unable to have children, Hagar was chosen to be a surrogate. How demoralizing! She became pregnant but then Sarai was so jealous that she beat Hagar, so much so, that she ran away. All alone in the wilderness, she was met by an angel who gave her an amazing message. ‘Return to your mistress and submit to her authority and I will give you more descendants than you can count’. The angel then said, ‘You are now pregnant with a son. You are to name him Ishmael, for the Lord has heard about your misery’. (The Life Recovery Bible).

When we are caught in no-win situations, it is tempting to run away through our addictive/compulsive escape hatches. At times like these God is there, and He is listening to our woes. We need to express our pain to God instead of just trying to escape it. He hears our cries and is willing to give us hope for the fuuture.

Jeremiah 29:11-

“For I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me in earnest, you will find me when you seek me. I will be found by you” says the Lord. “Iwill end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and bring you home again to your own land”.

I too, have found the comfort that this verse offers. Many times I have wanted to run from circumstances or situations, but we are only reassured of safe change when by recognizing how helpless we are against our weaknesses we choose to entrust God with our lives. We must put ourselves into His powerful loving hands. Realizing that God loves us no matter what! No matter how we have lived! No matter what we have done!

Prayer: Dear Lord God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I need help. I believe in You and that Jesus is Your Son. I believe that He came and died to pay the penalty for the sins I have committed. I ask You to forgive me, and to give me the gift of eternal life You promised. Come into my life and cause me to be born again. Amen!

—passages taken from The Life Recovery Bible.

http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com
Author of Eleanor’s Story, A Stolen Childhood

Leave a Reply

