Mirror, Mirror


The wicked queen of Sleeping Beauty fame, spoke into her mirror and expected to be pleased with the response.

Ever been to a fairground and looked into the distorted mirrors? Some make you appear squat and wide. Some give you the appearance of being many feet taller than you really are – long and lanky. Still others cause you to almost vanish as your image comes back as a tiny speck, while in another you appear split in two………..amazing!

Much like our personalities and characters, I am thinking. We can appear to others as good and wholesome, while inside we are not. We can present ourselves as unpleasant and gruff, while inside we are not. We can be so quiet as to be insignificant to onlookers, as we speak and are not heard. Do the opinions of others concern you? They matter to me less and less as I become older.

What is more important, is how I appear to God! Am I pleasing Him with my actions and words? Do I care for myself to enable me to care for others? He does not care how we look – whether we are handsome or plain nor fat or thin – all He looks for is that we are representing Him in mirror image.

Can we look at ourselves and say, “mirror, mirror, on the wall, am I honoring God as I should?” Hopefully, the response will be a resounding yes!

Love your neighbors as yourself is good advice. If we all chose to be kind to one another and not offend or hurt – think how wonderful the world could be!

My blog is: http://pattersmatters.wordpress.com
I write devotionals for http://www.devotionalchristian.com
My first novel Eleanor’s Story – A Stolen Childhood is in pre-publication stage

Leave a Reply

