Thankful for Everything


I have a very energetic mind and need constant variety in my life, to stop me from becoming disenchanted with my lot!

It occurred to me a long time ago, that I easily get bored with life, when I feel ‘stuck in a rut’.

Then I considered how important it is to be thankful for all situations. I thought about how we grow when faced with adversity! We problem solve and accomplish much more in order to survive or get through to the other side of the challenge. We focus on the solution instead of the problem.

When life is dealing the right cards and all is relatively good, we can easily become complacent and then slip into a pity-party mentality, when we view our lives as being mundane.

One day, listening to news reports of war-torn areas around the globe, a light bulb suddenly went on, and I thanked God I was not living there with the deprivation of conflict. My ordinary life, which I sometimes consider dull, was at once a blessing. I realized that if it was taken from me I would miss it! My daily chores and lifestyle would be craved more than anything else.

I have endured and survived the horror or losing every material thing in my life, and at the time it was an absolute nightmare; however, all the things I lost were quickly replaced as time passed. My emotional turmoil was not so quickly healed, but again, as time passed it happened.

I would not want to live parts of my life again. There have been some dreadful moments of rejection and worse, but thankfully, there have been more beautiful moments and they more than compensate for the bad ones.

I now view each day as a blessing. One to be enjoyed to the fullest because I can. I sometimes, slip back to imagining times when my life was not so ordinary, and I certainly do not want to dwell there for long. I am thankful for where God has brought me and for the people He has placed in my life. I am thankful for my sons and their beautiful families: for my step-children and their families. I have a husband who respects and encourages me. He loves me despite my faults. I have friends that I trust and enjoy spending time with. My earthly family has grown over the years and I am glad for each person. Why on earth would I wish for anything else?

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 says, Rejoice always, pray without ceasing in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (NKJV)

If that is God’s will for me, I will stick with that and follow His guidance, after all, where would I be without Him in my life? I really don’t want to ‘go’ there!

Prayer: Lord God, it is so easy to wish we were on the ‘other side of the fence’. The trouble is that when we get there things are never as rosy as we expect them to be. Help us to be thankful and content with what we have – as long as we are not in abusive situations. Let us be aware of how we would feel, should everything be taken away from us. Then we would crave our mundane lives back and be truly thankful.

Leave a Reply

