I Needed That!


Self-pity and discontent crept into my heart silently: an uninvited guest and it charged my thoughts with ugliness.

The recent illness of someone near and dear had caused us different individual personal losses. Rest, comfort, income and confidence suffered while our tired minds tried to maintain equilibrium with our situation and inner peace.

It sadly, opened a door to negative thinking (boy, that can creep in so quickly, can’t it?) – that’s the only way I can best describe the turmoil within my heart. Then, I was prompted to watch a service on TV from Peoples Church, in which they showed a recent trip made to Israel. Families planted a tree in memory of those lost to persecution through the ages, particularly the Nazi regime and it’s atrocious ethnic cleansing.

That immediately grabbed my attention and lifted my thinking. I still have family, health, freedom, faith: so why was I wasting precious energy with self-pity: even without financial issues I still have more than many in this world.

A singer then sang one of my favorite hymns – praising our faithful Father, who makes us whole. Whose grace and mercy and love continually amaze. I needed that!

Once again, with this past tribulation overcome with perseverance, my challenges are still small compared to those that many people endure. Some of those cannot be overcome, but still they try.

I guess the reminder was necessary – I know it was and I am now seeing things with different eyes and a refreshed heart.

So – mean and ugly thoughts – you are not welcome! You will not get the attention you crave. God is first in all matters – it is just that occasionally, I need a small reminder to travel another route when the burden becomes too heavy.

Romans 5: 3-5 – And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us. (NKJV)

Prayer: Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou! Jesus!

Leave a Reply

